mishmish4

BUKRA FIL MISH-MISH

(TOMORROW, WHEN THE APRICOTS BLOOM)

73 minutes, 2019
Director : Tal MICHAEL (Israel)
Production : Cassis Films (Israel), Les Films d’Ici Méditerranée (France)

In a basement near Paris a treasure-trove of Egyptian animated films has been found. The films show the work of the Arab world’s pioneers in this genre, the Frenkel brothers: three exceptional young film-makers, creators of Mish-Mish Effendi, the Mickey Mouse of the entire region, which disappeared from Egyptian screens when the State of Israel was created.
Through their animated images, we uncover the history of the Frenkel family, marked by exile, a trauma being repeated today.
“Bukra fil Mish-Mish” is a common Arabic expression referring to something which will never happen: “if pigs could fly”. At the same time the extraordinary discovery of these films reveals a forgotten era gone forever, an Arab-Jewish golden age when the two communities could create things together. Not only has it disappeared, it has been erased from the pages of history.

Born in Haïfa in 1974, Tal MICHAEL is a film and television director. She has a degree in cinema and television from Tel Aviv University and worked on a doctorate on comparative literature. Among her films are the two documentaries “Around the Bed of a Dying Collaborator” (2018), “Pitbulls: Flesh and Blood” (2014).

Back to category

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

BUKRA FIL MISH-MISH

(QUAND LES POULES AURONT DES DENTS)

73 minutes, 2019
Réalisation : Tal MICHAEL (Israël)
Production : Cassis Films (Israël), Les Films d’Ici Méditerranée (France)

Dans un sous-sol près de Paris, des trésors de dessins animés égyptiens ont été retrouvés. Ils racontent l’histoire des pionniers du genre dans le monde arabe, les frères Frenkel : trois jeunes cinéastes d’exception, créateurs de Mish-Mish Effendi, le Mickey Mouse du monde arabe, disparu d’Égypte lors de la création de l’État d’Israël.
À travers leurs images d’animation, on découvre l’histoire de leur famille marquée par l’exil, un traumatisme qui perdure aujourd’hui encore.
“Bukra fil Mish-Mish” est une expression arabe courante. Elle fait référence à quelque chose qui n’arrivera probablement jamais, un peu comme “quand les poules auront des dents”. De la même façon, l’extraordinaire découverte de ces films révèle une époque oubliée et qui ne reviendra plus, quand la co-création cosmopolite se déroulait pendant un âge d’or arabo-juif qui a disparu et a été effacé des pages d’histoire.

Née à Haïfa en 1974, Tal MICHAEL est réalisatrice de cinéma et de télévision. Elle est diplômée du département cinéma et télévision de l’Université de Tel-Aviv et ancienne doctorante en littérature comparée. Parmi ses œuvres, figurent les documentaires “Around the Bed of a Dying Collaborator” (2018), “Pitbulls: Flesh and Blood” (2014)…

Revenir à la catégorie