MÈRES

(MOTHERS)
62 minutes, 2020
Director : Myriam BAKIR (Morocco)
Production : Sedna Films (France), Abel Aflam (Morocco)
in coproduction with TV 2M (Morocco), Lyon Capitale TV (France), Ostinato Production (France)

In Morocco, single mothers can be sent to prison under article 490 of the penal code. Society treats them as outcasts. To protect them, Mahjouba Edbouche created Oum El Banine (mother of children) which welcomes pregnant unmarried women.
The director takes us through their daily lives in this shelter and shows us their journey, from their arrival here to the birth of a child, And sometimes reconciliation with their family.

Myriam BAKIR was born in Paris of Moroccan parents. She studied at the Conservatoire Libre du Cinéma Français in Paris, followed by a training course in photography in the United States. Then came professional television experience in the West Indies. She has directed three short films.
“Samia” with Neza Rahil was broadcast on Canal Plus. It has also won the Audience Award at the Meknes Rencontres Cinématographiques and Best Actress Award at the Casablanca National Festival.
In 2011, her first feature “Agadir-Bombay” with Noufissa Benchehida, won the Best Actress Award at the Tangier National Film Festival. In this film about prostitution in Morocco, the director sees the issue from the woman’s point of view. Today her work is used as evidence with associations defending the rights of women and children. With the support of the Moroccan Ministry of National Education, it is regularly shown in schools.
“Mères” is Myriam BAKIR’s first documentary, set in the real world, following Mahjouba Edbouche, a woman committed to single mothers in Morocco. The film tackles the problem head-on: these women’s fate and the law which condemns them.

Revenir à la catégorie

MÈRES

62 minutes, 2020
Réalisation : Myriam BAKIR (Maroc)
Production : Sedna Films (France), Abel Aflam (Maroc)
en coproduction avec TV 2M (Maroc), Lyon Capitale TV (France), Ostinato Production (France)

Au Maroc, l’article 490 du code pénal condamne les mères célibataires à de la prison ferme. La société, quant à elle, les fustige comme des parias.
Pour les défendre, Mahjouba Edbouche a fondé l’association Oum El Banine (mère des enfants) qui accueille les femmes enceintes non mariées.
Dans ce lieu qui les protège, la réalisatrice nous entraîne dans leur quotidien et nous montre leur parcours, de leur arrivée à l’association jusqu’à la naissance d’un enfant et parfois jusqu’à la réconciliation avec leur famille.

De parents marocains, Myriam BAKIR est née à Paris. Après des études au Conservatoire Libre du Cinéma Français à Paris, puis un cycle de formation à la photographie aux États-Unis et une expérience professionnelle à la télévision aux Antilles, elle réalise trois courts-métrages.
“Samia” avec Neza Rahil, prix du Public aux Rencontres Cinématographiques de Meknès, prix d’interprétation féminine au Festival National de Casablanca, est diffusé sur Canal+.
En 2011, son premier long-métrage “Agadir-Bombay” avec Noufissa Benchehida, obtient le prix d’interprétation féminine au Festival National du Film de Tanger. Dans ce film sur la place de la prostitution au Maroc, c’est toujours la position de la femme que la réalisatrice défend. Aujourd’hui son oeuvre sert de plaidoyer auprès d’associations de défense des droits des femmes et des enfants. Avec le concours du Ministère de l’Éducation Nationale marocain, il est régulièrement visionné dans les établissements scolaires.

Avec “Mères”, Myriam BAKIR signe son premier documentaire. La réalisatrice se réfère au réel, celui de Mahjouba Edbouche, femme engagée auprès des mères célibataires au Maroc. Le film confronte son action, le sort de ces femmes et la loi qui les condamne.

Revenir à la catégorie